Pre-Apprenticeship Certificate Training (PACT) program

Give your students the opportunity to learn the building trades by licensing the PACT program. The award-winning curriculum, based on NAHB’s Green Building Standard™ and National Skills Standards, is one of only three pre-apprenticeship curricula recognized by the Department of Labor (DOL) deployed in youth training programs nationwide. The PACT curriculum integrates performance-based learning in the building trades with vocational and academic skills training and includes life skills, career development, and on-the-job training.


Licensing the PACT curriculum for your school or program includes:

  • Instructor training and certification
  • Instructor mentorship and customer support
  • Instructor and student workbooks
  • Certification assessments
  • Access to HBI CTEtechWorks learning management system including:

– PACT related content for blended learning
– Over 2,500 online learning modules
– Online gamification tools like points and badges
– Integration with live online training tools like Zoom, WebEx and GoToTraining
– Online student reporting

Click here to contact HBI for more information about PACT.

Residential Construction Academy (RCA) series

Take the PACT to the next level with the Residential Construction Academy (RCA) Series of textbooks and instructional materials. This series is rich in pedagogy and step-by-step procedures, using four-color illustrations and photographs to teach in short segmented readings. These texts are designed to teach through doing and experience. Robust instructor material support is available as well as eBooks and digital solutions for blended learning.

Click here to view the series titles and place an order.

Residential Construction Superintendent Series

Designed to enhance the knowledge and skills of home building or remodeling site field professionals, the Residential Construction Superintendent Series (RCS) provides training in the following areas:

  • General project management
  • Planning and scheduling
  • Budget management and cost control
  • Customer service and homeowner relations
  • Safety and security
  • Codes and quality control
  • Hiring, training and supervision
  • Office and trade contractor relations

Students who earn the RCS designation can upskill themselves with the Advanced RCS Designation, which prepares participants for supervisory roles. Advanced RCS Designation courses cover three areas of study: professional growth; building leaders; and technical proficiency. A test-out option for the Advanced RCS designation is available.

Click here to contact HBI for more information about RCS.